Home » BusinessofthMonth » Business of the Month: Jamie Morath Art

Business of the Month: Jamie Morath Art

We are really enjoying sharing all these wonderful rescues and small businesses with you in our Business of the Month. We of course hope you are enjoying it too.

This month we are excited to introduce another talented artist: Jamie Morath. All her paintings are lovely but no surprise that we especially like the wiener dog ones 😉 She paints various animals, flowers, sport and people – almost everything you could dream of. If you are looking for something which you can’t find on her website or looking for a personalized painting, please get in contact with Jamie.

You can find all her painting on her website: www.jamiemorath.com and check out her Facebook page where you can follow her work but also take part in her competitions. Below you can read a little more about Jamie and how she got started as an artist.

Wash Your Wieners

Wash Your Wieners

“Sketching has been a great part of my life since I was little. I remember drawing a picture of my dad building our new swing set at the age of 5. He had a really big nose and so a big nose I gave him! I’m a self taught Artist who only took one semester of art in High School. It wasn’t until then I did my very first piece in color at age 17. After graduating high school I got married to the most wonderful man I could ask for. We have 9 children! That’s 4 boys, 3 dogs and 2 cats who inspire me everyday for new paintings. I’m always taking photos of the crazy things, they do. And with 9, it’s never a dull moment.

Back in 2008 is when I began my art career. I have been babysitting for 16 years and one of my babysitting parents, Holly McAtee was on the Loveland Arts Council. She saw me draw pages for the kids to color all the time and one day, she said there was a contest for Loveland’s Valentine Card. I told her I didn’t have time with babysitting and she offered to get me all the info and even drop off my entry. So I did it and when I received that call, my heart pounded through my throat. I had won Limited Edition version!! Holly then told me I needed to do this event in our town called “Paint The Town”. It’s where you have 7 days to paint anything in Loveland. On that Sunday there is a 2 hour sale of your work. I hesitated because I thought to myself  “Who would buy my work? I’m too different. Well I will give it a try.” I was able to paint 5 paintings in 7 days and during the sale I SOLD 4 originals in just 20 minutes!! I looked at my husband and said “I’m doing this!” At that moment I realized different is a good thing, not a bad thing. From that point until now I have painted 591 originals, sold 337 originals, selling to 39 states in the US and Canada and I have won 17 awards! 
Now I have a whole new look on life. I feel like I wasted so much time thinking, I was different, that it was a bad thing and I now see every little thing in life as something to treasure. Sometimes we don’t realize it’s the little things in life that make us smile. Such as with our fur babies. I have done so many shows and heard so many stories of people’s cats and dogs but one thing that is always the same whether it’s a good story or bad is the smile on their face when telling that story. I started painting things that people can relate to. Such as our dogs waiting for us outside the bathroom door, our cats sleeping on the dryer to keep warm or even how they hog the bed like they own it! These are the little things I see that make us happy. The little things that mean so much to us we don’t realize. I also do commission work for people to capture their most precious memories of their fur babies. It’s their story turned into a painting that they can cherish and remember forever. My fans and followers are what keeps me painting. To know that I can bring that smile, tear of a loved fur baby that has passed or keep that memory alive is what being an Artist means to me. It’s the greatest feeling in the world and I always say to myself “Life is the perfect canvas, an endless inspiration.”
Purdy Peez small

Purdy Peez small

Most Memorable Days small

Most Memorable Days small

A Rescue's Dream Contrast small

A Rescue’s Dream Contrast small

That’s how the doggie biscuit crumbles!

Leave a Reply

