Home » BusinessofthMonth » Business of the Month: Poodles Doodles Creative

Business of the Month: Poodles Doodles Creative

It’s time to flip the calendar to a new month! May has arrived which also means a new Business of the Month! We are thrilled to introduce you to Poodles Doodles Creative owned by Karen Burton who’s a freelance graphic designer, web developer and artist. Karen is a talented woman and offers anything from paintings to websites and logos. There’s no limits to her talent and we look forward to sharing her beautiful work with you through the month of May.

PoodlesLogo-only

Here’s Karen’s story:

“In 2006, the company I was working for, was going out of business. I wanted to leave the state of MD and move to TN, but didn’t think it would be fair to take a new job knowing that I would be leaving eventually, so I decided to try my hand at my own business. The printing company I worked for was amazing and helped me by giving me (not selling me) most of my equipment, printers, computers, light tables, etc so I didn’t have the startup costs. Naming my new business was the fun challenge, I couldn’t figure out anything. My best friend actually named my business. Poodles Doodles. To explain, I have curly hair, curlier than little miss Shirley Temple, and he nicknamed me “poodle” years and years ago. The fact that I’m always “doodling, he just put them together as a joke and it stuck. (no one EVER forgets my business name though!), I used to get a lot of calls asking me if I breed poodles or if I’m a dog pooh pickup service… So I rebranded myself last year and added “creative” to my name. I am now Poodles Doodles Creative Services. I offer graphic design (for print and web), virtual assistant help, web development and continuing maintenance for wordpress websites. 

I’ve been working in the printing industry for nearly 20 years, and in 2007-8 I started doing web design and development as well. My business model is a little different than most; I believe in honesty and listening to my clients. I utilize retainers, prepaid blocks of time vs. project rates – it typically ends up costing my clients less as it is a 1:1 billing process vs. me trying to ‘guess’ the number of hours a project will take. 

My passion, is dachshunds, and really saving all domestic animals. So I am hoping to start a 501 (c) 3 rescue aimed at educating the public on kill shelters, the importance of spaying and neutering and microchipping, and obviously saving precious lives. This dream is a little ways out there though, so I do what I can by cross posting, donating art to rescues for auctions, sharing valuable advice and warnings to the animal commmunity and more. 

IMG_0002I am also a painter/artist. I personally love Disney cartoons and very much enjoy doing ‘fan art’ of Disney characters (on the portfolio page of my website you can see some of the Disney art pieces I’ve done). My entire office is an Alice in Wonderland Mural – reminding me to always “dream.” Recentlly, I’ve started doing custom pet paintings as well. I’ve done a few as give aways for rescues or sick animals that needed funds raised for medical treatments. I really love that I am able to give back, and do as much as I can. 
Below is Rue who needed help getting her second back surgery and I donated that painting to help her. Unfortunately Super Rue crossed the bridge last year, but she was certainly loved. 
24416_596741693673598_1323453505_n  IMG_1069
I’m also a teenage mom, high school dropout. I had my son when I was 15, dropped out of high school (4 times), got my GED, and have WORKED so very hard to not be a statistic. I worked 3 and 4 jobs at a time to keep us above welfare and make something more of myself. I started college when I was 28. I am 6 credits from my bachelors of arts degree. I am living proof that all things are possible when you have ambition and drive. It was these qualities that persuaded my old bosses to donate the equipment to me to start my business. In the 10 years I was with that company, they watched me grow from a rotten 19 year old single mom to a professional designer/office manager. They believed in me at a time when no one else would even look at me.
Screenshot 2014-04-26 16.56.43
IMG_0056
shadow IMG_0062 IMG_0068

Karen has worked hard to be where she is today and to have a job which she loves! If you want to know more about Karen and her business, see the below links for more info.

Website: Poodles Doodles Creative and
Facebook pages: Poodles Doodles and Sassy the Doxie’s page

That’s how the doggie biscuit crumbles!
Leave a Reply

