Home » doxie » Interview with Frankie & Zoey

Interview with Frankie & Zoey

Meet Frankie & Zoey – check out their Facebook page here

We love following Frankie & Zoey because they are always making us smile with their pictures and videos. They dress up for any occasion and we love seeing them in their different costumes. So we were very excited when they contacted us wanting to be interviewed for The Doxie Press 🙂 So sit back, have a laugh and get to know these two cute doxies better. There are lots more pictures and videos to be found on their Facebook page so be sure to check it out. Over to Frankie & Zoey:

Tell us about your family.
We live with mum & dad in Canada’s National Capital Ottawa! We were actually born in St. Eustache, Quebec. I (Frankie) came to live in Ottawa when I was about 10 weeks old then 4 months later they decided I needed a side kick so we went back to my roots where mum fell in love with Zoey. We all fell in love with Zoey to be honest even though I can be a little stinker of a big brother.

Sens fans

Sens fans

How did you get your names?
Frankie – I went nameless for a good couple of weeks…any name mum and dad tried on me did not fit and I ignored it becasue well look at me do I really look like a Simon or a Bentley?  They almost gave up and was just going to keep my birth name Tomi. Then one day while mum was at work she pulled up a list of common dachshund names for boys and called dad at home and said how about Frankie. So he started calling Frankie…Frankie then I came running out of the other room and I was like it’s about time you got my name right becasue I was starting to wonder who the heck “hey you’ was. Mum says I look like a Frankie so here I am… FRANKIE 🙂

Zoey – Since mum and dad were so successful with the dachshund name list for Frankie they went through the girl list for me.  There were not to many names mum really liked and they narrowed it down to Lulu, Lucy and Zoey. Mum said right off the bat when they came to meet  me in person I totally looked like a Zoey but with a Y.  I think my name suits me well.

Frankie & Zoey as Super Troopers

Frankie & Zoey as Super Troopers

Describe yourself with 3 words.
Frankie – demanding, loving and comical
Zoey – cuddly, clingy and sweet

Are you best friends?
Not only are we best friends we are also brother and sister. We have the same doggie daddy. There is about 4 months between us. We have been inseparable since the day we joined forces. We even accompany each other for vet visits for moral support (or to hatch an escape plan)
Inseparable

Inseparable

Do you get each other in trouble? 
uh-hem trouble? What’s that? What can we say other than we work as a team…have you seen our little video of when mum came home from work and found our bed dragged to the middle of the room and the down pillow under it somehow just popped feathers everywhere? (ed. video can be found here and we laughed a lot when we saw it)
Renovating

Renovating

What’s the most naughtiest thing you each have done?
Well other than the pillow feather fiasco we have been known to destroy beds and we supported each other in the baseboard chewing project. When Zoey went through her teething phase she thought chewing on the baseboards was such a great idea and I was like how come i never thought of that before that looks fun. Then when we renovated (of course we helped) the baseboards got changed and we didn’t touch them for at least FOUR whole months. Then we fell off that wagon…Now we don’t touch them at all.

Happy Zoey

Happy Zoey

Do you know any tricks?
Frankie – I can give paw, other paw, both paws, high five, secret hand shake (mums pumps her fist on my paw and I slap mine back on top). If you say a pleasure to meet you you I will give you my paw. I can also play dead…I am not the best or quick at it but when mum does bang bang I will roll on my back. I can also lay down when asked.Zoey – I can give paw and other paw, High five and I will give paw if you ask pleasure to meet you. I will also give kisses if mum asks for kisses and I will lay down.  Sometimes when she asks if I am dramatic I will give my attitude head up in the air while I am laying down (look for yourself here)

What’s your favourite thing to do?
Frankie – hmmmmm well I really like my Curious George monkey…but we won’t talk about that…I like to go on outings, visit with my wiener dog group, I think I like car rides we are not sure if all the squimpering is sheer excitement to get out or just me not liking car rides to much.  I also like to play with Zoey I get her to play chase by taking a toy and coaxing her to chase me. I also like lounging in the sunlight or infront of the heater  or just snuggling on either mum or dads lap.Zoey – I like to play, nap and snuggling up with mommy when she comes home. I actually don’t leave her alone when she is in my site. I follow her EVERYWHERE…there is no privacy for mum with me around. She calls me a stage 5 clinger whatever that means. I also like to lay in the sunshine and i like car rides becasue I like to sit up in the booster seat and look out the window. I also like food so eating is high up there on my list. I am pretty easy going so I like a lot of stuff….except clothes I like to be a total free bird.

Do you have a favourite toy?
Frankie – well the monkeys of course. I have two big ones. Most recently a 26″ Curious George I got for my 3rd birthday in November. I like my angry birds and anything that Zoey has that looks like she is just having way too much fun with.Zoey – I love the laser light. It is my ultimate favourite. I can chase it all day if mum would let me. I get so excited when I play my tongue hangs out like Gene Simmons from the band  KISS. I love anything that squeaks especially those fluffless toys from the Dollar Store…they squeak the best. I also love dirty laundry and socks the best ones are the fresh ones rolled up in a ball and thrown down the hall. Oh and beach balls love to destroy those things usually takes a couple of seconds
Frankie loves monkeys

Frankie loves monkeys

What’s your favourite food?
Other than our Acana Pacifica meals with pumpkin puree  we love red peppers, steamed green beans, carrots an our most favourite is the occasional raw beef bone marrow…Frankie does a whole personality change over with those.

Zoey as Sherlock

Zoey as Sherlock

Frankie as MJ

Frankie as MJ

We already know you love to dress up or is it more mummy who loves it?
We never really mind…  Frankie is more willing because I (Zoey) just like to be free of any clothing or even a harness. Mum encourages us with treats and our photo shoots never take long like maybe  10 to 15 minutes max with set up, dress up and then the pictures. Our outrageous costumes are ideas that comes to mum while she is out and about and we do those sort of photo shoots for occasions really.
March seemed to have never ending ones. Most of our hats are made by mum such as the jester hat… both for Mardi Gras and Zoey’s 2013 Halloween costume or the birthday hats and all the ties. A lot of the small stuff she makes as she is not good with sewing machine. Other times things are custom made through Etsy like our Super Troopers outfit…minus the tie of course and the hat. We hope people understand we are never forced into things and usually during the shoots we goof around and play while mum sets up. We like to roll in the displays and make a mess then we get serious when the treats come out. We usually keep our focus by staring at a treat. If you look at Zoey’s poses she is always focused on the food.  And of course we wear sweaters and coats during the colder weather when we go out. Other than that we are pretty much naked all of the time when we are at home and all summer long.

Do you have a role model?
We can’t really say we have one role model we look up too as there could be many with different qualities that we appreciate. We appreciate anyone out there human and/or animal that are trying to make a difference in our world whether it is to save a life, lend a helping hand or make us laugh or just to make a difference that will impact in a good way. When we here someone paying it forward in a coffee shop to a bunch of people who can already afford coffee we aren’t really impressed. Paying it forward to us means to help people who maybe do not have the means to help themselves. The ones that step up to save a life, or help others or just make us laugh are all role models to us.

Are you blanket/duvet or basket dogs?
Frankie –  While in the living room I like to snuggle under my blankets.. At bedtime I go under the duvet mostly but lately i am on top of the duvet under the snuggly wiener dog blanket on mums side but I usually move to the middle of the big bed under the duvet at some point at night.Zoey – I like snuggling under blankets in the living room. At bedtime I sleep with mum on the duvet under the snuggly wiener blanket in the same spot every night..then I move under the duvet at some point. Mum says I look like a little person when she finds me in the middle of the bed under the duvet paws over the blanket on my back.

Anything else you would like to add?
As you know we are Ottawa Canada locals which means Rusty Ruru – The Canadian Dachshund is actually a really good friend of ours. Like a cousin really. His mum and our mum are really good friends. They run our local dachshund group together and go on many dachshund treasure hunts and lunches together.You may also know Crusoe – the Celebrity Dachshund also local and we hang around him on occasion as well. If you read his blog we have shown up in a few…Zoey is actually one of Crusoe’s sexy wiener dog ladies. She has appeared in about 2 of his blogs pertaining to sexy lady wiener dogs party the most memorable one being the summer pool party. Rusty is in that one too. Zoey has also been on the double date blog where she pigs out on spaghetti. (Wiener Dog Pool Party)

We also want people to know even though we are Spoiled Little Dachshunds all that means is that we are very lucky dachshunds that ended up in a very loving home where we are very well taken care of and very much loved. It does not mean we are bratty or selfish in anyway or always get what we want. We don’t… mum is actually a really good pack leader.  We always question the name of our page becasue spoiled sometimes comes off as bratty or a pretentious attitude. But we are far from that. If anyone ever meets us in person they see happy, loving, well behaved dogs with a mum and dad who really love them and care about their well being. We are not rescues like some dogs out there and to us that just means we landed in the right home from the get go.  But we want people to know spoiled does not mean we don’t care. We don’t really promote the charitable things we do locally because mum is a bit modest about stuff like that. But we do donate when we can and we always love giving gifts away. That is why we did the contest… mum says she enjoys if we can give back and spoil others as well.  Our FB page started originally just for that to share us with everyone who just wanted to see a couple of cute unique looking piebalds.

We hope this interview gave better insight to us and see past some of our crazy pictures 🙂

Thank you so much for taking the time to be interviewed! Wow! You know Crusoe!!!! He’s my hero!!! I sure would love to hang out with you, Crusoe and Rusty one day! Canadian Doxie Reunion! That’ll be my dream now 😉 Keep up the great work on your Facebook page and tell your mummy it’s okay to share her good work with all your friends 🙂

Donations for CDR Wienerpawlooza

Donations for CDR Wienerpawlooza

Frankie in the Pool

Frankie in the Pool

Silly Frankie

Silly Frankie

Zoey on a car ride

Zoey on a car ride

That’s how the doggie biscuit crumbles!

Leave a Reply

