Home » interview » Interview with Darko

Interview with Darko

Meet Darko the Canaan Mutt – check out his Facebook page here and he’s also on Twitter @DarkoCanaanMutt

We received this interview last night and mummy was laughing out loud! Even daddy came upstairs asking what was going on! Mummy had to read part of the interview out for him but she just couldn’t help laughing; especially about Frenzy’s long list of naughtiness 😀 Check it out for yourself. Over to Darko and family:

Tell us a little about your family.
I live on Vancouver Island, in British Columbia, Canada with my Mom and Dad and my three kitty siblings. I am currently the youngest member of my pack and enjoy being the “baby” of the family. Especially since it makes Frenzy so jealous. He was the baby before I came along and is just as bad of a Mamma’s Boy as I am (if not worse), but over the past two years we have learned to work out our differences.

My barkday is August 26th, 2011 and I was adopted at 8 weeks old. I am a Canaan Dog mutt and no, Canaan is not slang for Canadian or Canine, it is an actual breed.

I’m not a rescue pup or anything like that, I was an accident, along with my eight litter mates. Our dog-mom Marley had gone on a camping trip with her human Grandparents and ended up having nine puppies a few months later, three girls and six boys. Three of us boys – Logan X, Renfrew and myself – were born with a nub for a tail so don’t worry, it is 100% natural. I found my way to my forever family through Marley’s human family who are long time family acquaintances of my humans. Since they couldn’t keep all nine of us they found friends and family to take us. That way, they still get to see us from time to time.

How did you get your names?
I got my name at six weeks old when my forever humans first came to see me. My name at the time was Donny Dapple and my Mom took one look at me and said “Donnie Darko, but we’ll call him Darko” and that has been my name ever since. I’ve got many nicknames, however, including Captain Dorko, Sir Barks-A-Lot, The Cat-Dog, Darth Darko, Wubbs, Wiggle-Butt and many others.

My oldest kitty sibling, Ravage, was adopted from our local SPCA and my Dad had him named before the paperwork was officially signed. Our Dad is a huge Transformers fan and Ravage was the first cat name that popped in to his head and it stuck! His name at the shelter was Teddy, which was a good name, especially for him because he is quite the teddy bear, but Ravage suits him best as he likes to ravage us with his love and drool. He is the coolest cat I know. Ravage has many nicknames including Stinkers, Fellas, Slobberface, Mr. Drools and The Dog-Cat.

Deunan is the second oldest of my pack (she was a pet store kitty) and it took my humans almost two weeks to name her. She was quite shy at first but after she got comfortable her personality began to show and a short while later they named her Deunan, after a character in an anime movie called Appleseed. The main character Deunan is quite like my big sister. Deunan has several nicknames including Two-Face, Princess, Baby Girl and Babys.

Frenzy had two names when my humans adopted him from CatNap Society; Alpha and Zoom-Zoom (which was his name at the time). He was currently staying with a third foster home because he was reported to be “a bit of a handful” by the foster families. Turns out that “a bit of a handful” was putting it really REALLY nicely. BOL! After Zoom-Zoom’s first day at his new forever home with my humans they named him Frenzy. The first reason was because that’s exactly what he is and the second reason was because Dad wanted it to be a Transformer name.

Describe yourselves with 3 words. (You can do 3 words for each of you)
Me: Loud. Loving. Loyal.

Ravage: Stinky. Slobbery. Pushy.

Deunan: Tiny. Diva. Snuggly.

Frenzy: Bossy. Whiny. Mamma’s-Boy.

What’s your favourite thing to do?
Hmmm… Well, that’s a tough one but I guess my most favourite thing to do is hang out with my family. And as long as I’m with my family my favourite thing to do would be swimming at the beach or wherever there is enough water to splash in. I am a crazy water dog! BOL! I also love going on big hikes, playing with my kitties (especially Ravage.. we race around the house together!), attending doggie daycare with my fur-friends and play dates with my blood brother Logan X.

As for my kitties, their favourite is to hang out with our family too. Besides that, sun worshiping, catnip, outdoor adventures and playing with their toys are amoung their favourite things to do.

Do you have a favourite toy?
My favourite toy would have to be a tennis ball, especially the squeaky ones. I toss it around for myself and sometimes throw it at my kitties if I want them to play with me (I have yet to succeed at engaging them in a game). One of my favourite games to play with a tennis ball is to drop it in the kitty tunnel and then pounce on and shake the kitty tunnel until I get it out. It’s a super fun game and if you haven’t played it before, you should try it out. It’s a lot of fun! A close second to a tennis ball would be my big stuffie Frog and little one Coon. I am also obsessed with the laser pointer.

Ravage’s favourite toy would be a string and anything with a feather attached and the same goes for Deunan. Frenzy, however, prefers the laser pointer over anything else, including catnip. He knows the sound of the button to turn the laser on, the sound that picking it up makes and the sound when opening the drawer it’s in. He can be in a dead sleep on the opposite end of the house and the very second one of our humans touches the laser pointer or the drawer it’s in he is instantly there, sometimes still squinty-eyed and half asleep. It’s almost like he can teleport.

What’s the most naughtiest thing you have done?
That naughtiest thing I’ve ever done? Hmm… I guess that would be peeing on one of my human Aunties while at doggie daycare when I was a young pup. I walked up, sniffed her pants then lifted my leg and peed on her right in front of my Mom. I had just turned six months old and my humans had just finished talking about putting off my special vet visit until I started showing certain signs. Well, apparently that was one of the signs and I was off to the vet the following week. There were a few other reasons as well and my human Auntie was the second human I had marked that week – the first being my Mom (which at the time she thought it was an accident.. until she witnessed me do it do Auntie) – but I’m not such a brat dog anymore. I’ve matured since then. Mostly…

The naughtiest thing Ravage has ever done was during his very last bath. It’s a long story (and Ravage used to be good for baths) but basically he tore up Mom’s arm real bad. Dad was there too but Mom was the one holding him and got the worst of it. She had three ripped tendons and over fifteen puncture wounds on her right arm and hand. Mom was a pet groomer at the time and had to take almost an entire month off from grooming before she could hold a pair of scissors again. She had groomed a lot of difficult pets before but nothing like Ravage was that day. She still has scars.

The naughtiest thing Deunan has done? That would probably be when she peed on Dad’s computer bag. Our humans had been away for just over a week and I guess she didn’t approve and so the day after they came home Dad’s new computer bag was on the floor and well.. the rest is history, as they say.

And then there’s Frenzy. His naughty list is endless so we’ll just list a few. He stole three out of four large chicken strips from a toddler before getting caught – only to find he was stashing them in the bedroom under the laundry pile for a future feast. He stole cheese cubes from another toddler’s plate repeatedly until he was locked away in the bathroom so the kid could finish his meal. He stole toast and cheese from Mom’s little sister’s plate during a visit resulting in tears. He stole a perogy from a guest’s plate during dinner time while she was eating from the same plate (he is very fast and sneaky) – our guest was shocked but thought it was so funny she offered him a second perogy. He has busted into the cupboards countless times, eating or destroying whatever is inside (our humans have to be careful what cupboards they put stuff in and make sure they are Frenzy-proof if they contain something he might want). He chewed the sensor cord for the Wii, forcing my humans to get a new sensor because apparently one can’t purchase just the cord. He ate Destro’s sword (a G.I. Joe collectible figure) which resulted in a few nasty words from Dad. He opened a tub of margarine once and ate almost two cups while our humans were out of the house. And like I said, that’s just a few. His list seriously never ends.

Do you know any tricks?
The kitties know how to sit and wait for food and treats. It is mandatory for mealtime due to Frenzy’s eating habits when he was adopted. But now (after almost five years) Frenzy has turned in to quite the pro and will sit and wait until the right word “okay” is called. Sometimes my humans will say over a dozen different words before releasing him with “okay” and he almost always performs perfectly, even when they test him with similar sounding works like “donkey” or “Okanagan” or “O’Canada.”

I have learned a few tricks during my puppyhood and after taking a class with Best Paw Forward last spring (a dog training facility here in town) called Beyond The Leash Level One, I have since learned a ton more. I can sit, stay, lie down, roll over, shake right paw or left paw, spin right or left, give a hug, give a high-paw, back up, retrieve specific toys, touch a hand or object, crawl, go to my mat, jump on or in something and lots more. I love learning new things and am a huge fan of positive reinforcement training with the aid of a noisy clicker device.

So tell us honestly? Who’s the boss of all of you? 
Paws down, Frenzy. Sometimes Ravage puts on his “I’m the oldest” pants and takes on the boss role but never for very long.

Why did you start your FB page?
Mom and I started my FB page for several reasons: (1) Mom is “slightly” obsessed with taking pictures of me and the kitties and she wanted to be able to share them with others, (2) most of my human family lives far away so it made it easy to share photos of me and my kitties and (3) we want to be able to help animals in need by sharing their photos and stories. That is why we started our community page Help Them And Be Their Voice. On it we share photos of animals looking for homes or needing assistance in some way as often as FB will let us (we’ve been jailed several times for doing so). Our goal is to eventually start raising money for all the amazing shelters and rescues out there and to one day start a rescue/animal sanctuary to call our own. We thought that FB would be a good start/stepping stone as we put together our long term goals and figure out how we will achieve them. While we get organized Mom and I keep sharing photos and have participated in a couple online charity auctions and I’m already a pro at pawtographing. BOL! Other places you can find me are Packdog, Twitter, Pinterest and on my blog.

We saw you go to Doggy Daycare? Do you go every day and what cool stuff do you do there?
I practically grew up at my doggie daycare. My Mom had worked there since she moved here to Vancouver Island and so when my humans adopted me I started attending daycare with Mom as soon as I was old enough to do so. I don’t go every day anymore but I usually go as often as Mom is working in the daycare. I have a LOT of friends at daycare but a few of my BFF’s are Molly Shepherd mix, Sophie Black Lab, Charlie Chihuahua and Madison Shepherd mix. We love to wrestle and race, play in the pools during the summer, nap in the sun or on a warm blanket, be silly with toys during toy time and so on. It is great fun and I highly recommend doggie daycare for all dogs out there! Just make sure you find a good daycare that supervises the dogs at all times and requires a meet and greet before attendance is permitted. Those unruly daycares can be a bit scary, so do your research first but definitely try it out sometime. It is pawsome!

Do you have role models?
My role models are my three kitty siblings and all the humans in my life. I have learned everything I know from them and hope to one day achieve great things with their aid and guidance.

Are you a blanket/duvet or basket dog/cat?
I’m a blanket kind of dog and much prefer sleeping on my big human bed with my head on the fluffy pillows. Ravage likes to nap on dog beds and the bigger the better so he can stretch out real good. Deunan is a basket kitty, especially if the basket is up high or in front of the fireplace. Frenzy could care less about blankets or baskets, he’ll sleep wherever. But his most favourite place to nap is on Mom’s lap or right beside Mom or inside Mom’s sweater or under the blankets with Mom… Really, just anything that involves snuggling with Mom in some way.

Anything else you want to add?
Stand up and be a voice for what you believe in. Don’t turn a blind eye, face things head on. You can make a difference in another’s life, all you need to do is try. Don’t fall for gossip and myth, do your research and you will find the truth. Black cats and dogs aren’t unlucky or superstitious, they are pawsome. Adopt, don’t shop, shelter pets need love too – maybe more than most.

Thanks again for the interview!

***wiggles & woofs*** ~ Darko

Isn’t this a great family! We loved getting to know more about Darko and his family. Sure must be crazy sometimes with all those cats around but glad to hear you are friends most of the time. We love hearing about other’s naughtiness but the story with Ravage was ouchie! Mummy knows very well how much that hurt but we will tell more about that in a later interview. Thanks again Darko for sharing your stories about you and your family.

Check out some pictures of Darko through the times as well as meet his kitty family, and remember to like his page on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Darko and the three kitties

Darko and the three kitties

Ravage & Darko first meet

Ravage & Darko first meet

upsidedown Darko

upsidedown Darko

little Darko

little Darko

Ravage (upsidedown superman)

Ravage (upsidedown superman)

Frenzy inspecting fork

Frenzy inspecting fork

Darko at beach summer 2013

Darko at beach summer 2013

Darko and Logan 2nd Barkday

Darko and Logan 2nd Barkday

Darko and the cats

Darko and the cats

Darko and Logan at river

Darko and Logan at river

Darko being a kitty

Darko being a kitty

Frenzy in basket

Frenzy in basket

puppy Darko

Darko and Deunan

Darko and Deunan

That’s how the doggy biscuit crumbles!

Leave a Reply

